This article explains about how the GS notifications are received in Slack.
Gainsight sends important notifications about the companies users are following through Slack. By default, all the notifications that are supported in Mobile are turned ON. For more information on notifications supported in mobile, refer to the Gainsight Mobile Overview article.
Note: Gainsight notifications are only sent for the customers who have set-up a Slack workspace for Sally.
Users can only modify their Slack preferences through Slack by typing ‘Settings in Gainsight Sally’ in Slack. After typing this, users receive the Notification settings message for all the companies and relationships they are following.
From the Notification settings, users can select Yes/No for the following main events available for subscription in Slack Channel:
- Company Intelligence
- Timeline activities, such as:
- Mentions in an activity
- Comments on your activity
- Mentions in a comment
Notifications in Slack
After selecting the Slack preferences, users must follow the company for which they want to receive notifications in Slack. If a user from a Slack channel follows a company on behalf of the channel, the notifications for those companies are sent in the channel.
To follow a company, users can type the company they want to follow in Slack. For example, <<Follow xyz company>>.
Once users follow the company, they will start receiving notifications regarding the events for which they have subscribed. For example, if you are mentioned in xyz Timeline activity, the following notification is received in Slack.
IMPORTANT: The Timeline activity notifications are received even if the user does not follow that particular company in Slack.
The following is the example of a GS notification if a user selects for Company Intelligence preference in settings and follow that company in Slack.
Users can also click the Notifications Settings option after every notification they receive to edit their Slack preferences directly in the threads.
Users also have Like or Dislike options to provide feedback on the notification details. If they click the Like option, a ‘Thank You’ message appears. If they click the Dislike option, an optional Share your feedback here comment dialog appears. Feedback is shared with the Gainsight product team to help improve the feature.