Skip to main content
Gainsight Inc.

Sharing FAQs

With whom can I share the Shared360 (quick snapshot of the customer’s key information and product usage data)?

You can share the Shared360 with the following end-users/recipients:

  • Internal users who are within your organization and can be with/without SFDC/Gainsight license.
  • External users including customers, partners, etc., who are not part of your organization but need access to the Shared360 layouts.
What is OTP?

In the Security Settings area, admins can select the Enable OTP Verification check box to ensure additional security authentication for end-users. The One Time Password (OTP) verification process is optional, as it provides an additional layer of security to protect the data shared with external people and prevent misuse.

Notes: Only admins can decide whether or not the OTP is required for any specific layout and can also add an expiration period by which the link shared by CSMs/AMs can be accessed and viewed by the end-users.

  • OTP can be generated for a maximum of five times per link.
  • End users can request for OTP for thrice.
  • If the OTP is expired, end users need to send a request to the person         who shared the link for a new OTP

For more information, refer to the Configure Shared 360 article.

As a CSM, with whom and how can I share a configured dashboard?

You can share dashboards with internal users who are within your organization and may be with/without SFDC/Gainsight license. You can share the same through email as a link, with optional security settings. The internal users (recipients) need to be added as a GS user into the GS User object (in MDA). For more information on how a GS user can be added, refer to Gainsight User Object.
If the users are unable to open the email link, contact your Network Administrator for resolving the issue.
CSMs can see the dashboards that are assigned by admins, using Dashboard Permissions.

Is it possible to share a read-only dashboard with non Gainsight users?

Yes, you can share dashboards directly with users even if they are non Gainsight users.. Each gets their own URL via email and you can impose security via OTP and/or expiration. For more information about how CSMs can share a dashboard as a link through email with the end-user(s) from Gainsight, refer to the Share Dashboards article.

Will the global filters stay when sharing dashboards via link?

The global filter behavior via Dashboard Sharing is similar to when a user accesses that dashboard from within the Gainsight application. When a user accesses that filter for the first time, any locked or default filters set by the admin when saving the dashboard in the administration panel will appear by default. From there the user can change their own global filters (except those that are locked). One deviation is that the user's previous customized filters are not saved if the link to the Shared Dashboard is reloaded.
Keep in mind that if the user clicks the Reset Filter button, the filter will revert to whatever setting the admin had when they saved the dashboard. This is usually "any" but could be any other search that the admin had saved.  

And just as in the Gainsight application, if you want a specific filter to be locked, this is respected by Dashboard Sharing. For more information, refer to the Global Filters for Dashboard article.

Note: if you share a dashboard and the user changes any of the filters that they're allowed to (based on permissions set by the admin on locked filters), and then closes the dashboard, and then reopens the link - the filters revert to the state they were in when they first received the shared dashboard. It does not respect user state preservation.

When I navigated to a dashboard and clicked PREVIEW AND SHARE > Preview page > clicked SHARE, an error message displayed.
Please update the Sharing Settings and retry sharing. This error seems to be related to incomplete sharing configuration.

I've created a new Shared C360 layout to use internally in our organization with Gainsight users. My CSMs get an "insufficient privileges" message when they click C360 > 3 dots > Shared C360. Is there a Salesforce permission they are missing in order to access the Share C360 page?

The Shared 360 Preview page has been configured to be available to the Gainsight Standard User and Gainsight Admin permission sets. (see image below).

Question-7.png

If your CSMs have some other permission set and you would like to give access to this functionality, then you can give access to "ExternalLayoutsPreview" page as shown below.

Can Admins rename the sections in Shared 360?

Yes, you can rename sections.

  1. Navigate to Administration > sharing >  360 Layouts.
  2. Edit name.
  3. After renaming, press ENTER. Name will be updated.
What should I do if facing issues while sharing dashboard weekly via emails?

With Gainsight's sharing capabilities, you can share dashboards, C360/R360 sections and Success Plans. While C360/R360 pages can be shared via Journey Orchestrator, you can't do this with dashboards straight out of the box.

But there is a workaround that is explained below. Please note that this has a few important caveats that you'll want to pay attention to at the bottom of the instructions.

Steps:

  1. Create an outreach (with appropriate template and powerlist) to send to the individuals to whom you want to share the dashboard. We'll come back to this outreach later in the process.
  2. Using Administration > Dashboard Builder page

    1. Create a dashboard that you would like to share and enable sharing on that dashboard.

    2. For sharing settings:

      • Uncheck - Enable OTP Verification

      • Check - Add an expiration period (7 days)

      • Optional - Enable Export

  3. Using Gainsight Home page

    1. Select your dashboard and click PREVIEW & SHARE.

    2. Under the PREVIEW & SHARE settings, click SHARE link and select yourself as the user to share the link with.

  4. You'll then receive an email with the link to the shared dashboard. Right click the link in the email message and "copy link address".

IMPORTANT- Do not open the link in a browser window and copy the entire URL from the address bar. There is a token associated with the link once it's opened in a browser window that won't be reusable if you copy the link for use on another system.

  1. Return to the email template created in step 1. Update the email template with the link to the shared dashboard copied in
    step 4.
  2. Send the outreach.

Notes:

  • OTP cannot be enabled in this method as the password will only be sent to the original recipient of the email in step 4 above (which is you) and NOT to the recipients of the outreach.

  • Expiration period of 7 days is enabled to provide a measure of security. After the expiration period passes, the link will no longer be valid.

  • This method does not track all potential recipients of the shared link and as such you cannot revoke any specific user's access. The only security is the expiration period of the link.

  • If you wish to schedule this outreach on a recurring schedule (weekly, monthly, etc), you'll have to repeat steps 3-5 above before the scheduled outreach runs to ensure that when it does send out the emails, the current link (and not an expired link) is sent.

The OTP I received through email is invalid. What should I do?

In case of repeated unsuccessful attempts, the link will become invalid/expired. Contact the person (CSM/AM) who shared the link with you.

Can I share C360 using Program emails?

Program emails can send Shared C360 Layouts with contacts who are loaded to GS Person/ Internal User. You can add a link or button to an Email Template and send it to participants using a Program. For more information, refer to the Send Shared C360 Layouts through Programs article.

 

  • Was this article helpful?