Skip to main content
Gainsight Inc.

1. User types

 Before you create users and allow access to your site, it is important for you to determine which of your users should perform which task(s). Look at your workflow and your teams and make a chart of who is to do what in your site. To help you decide the proper assignment, read through the sections below.

 

Types of users


There are two types of users in MindTouch: community members (your logged in end users) and pro members (your internal users). Find out below why you would choose one over the other and learn the various functions that can be assigned to pro members.

  NOTE:   The system automatically assigns a user who visits your site without logging as a system default user (anonymous).


Pro members vs. community members  


Community members are restricted from contributing content (i.e. editing or creating content) on your site. Pro members, on the other hand, can be assigned a variety of contributor functions via role assignment

  NOTE:  Community member functions cannot be changed.

  Log in View Rate articles Provide feedback Contribute
Community members green checkmark.png green checkmark.png green checkmark.png
Pro members green checkmark.png green checkmark.png green checkmark.png


 

Can community members ever edit pages?


No. Never. Community members can never do more than log in, view, rate articles or provide feedback. If you want a community member to be able to contribute, you will have to change the community member to a pro member in the control panel and then assign appropriate pro member roles.

 

Can I assign specific roles to pro members?


Absolutely. You can assign any of the following roles to pro members based on the tasks you want them to perform:

Pro member role Reason for assignment
None Rare edge case. Assign to users who need to log in to access specific pages on your site. You must allow access on the pages themselves. 
Viewer Use for new content contributors who are allowed to see all site content (except for private content) but who can access (e.g. edit or create) specific pages. You must allow access on the pages themselves.
Draft contributor Allow users to create and edits drafts of new and existing pages.
Author Permit users to publish drafts.
Editor Users will have permission to delete pages and to restrict other users from accessing pages.
Admin Assign sparingly. This user is omniscient. Pages can never be hidden from this user. Admins can see all pages and have full control over content.

  NOTE:  Roles are additive. Higher roles inherit all abilities of lower roles and gain the abilities specific to their role.

 

Which pro members can perform which tasks?


See the chart below for the various pro members roles and the tasks each role can perform:
 

  None Viewer Draft Contributor Author Editor Admin
Log in 
View pages
Subscribe to pages      
Rate articles      
Provide feedback      
Create drafts   
Edit drafts
Delete drafts
Publish drafts
Create pages
Edit pages
Copy pages
Move pages
Delete pages
Restrict page access
Apply unsafe content
Access control panel
View reports
Full site admin

  GOLDEN RULE:  When you create a user in the control panel, associated access levels and abilities are applied globally. To allow or restrict users (except admins) from performing tasks on specific pages, you must assign the appropriate roles on the pages themselves.

 

The importance of grouping


Adding users to a group allows you to easily provide access to a set of users to a specific page or section. We recommend adding users to a group and allowing permissions on a page instead of giving individual users access to specific pages to ease management of page permissions in the future. Think about it—what if an employee leaves your organization? Would you rather go through each page and remove that user's access individually, or simply remove them from the group which has been given access? We're voting on the latter.
 

Go here next!

  • Was this article helpful?