Skip to main content
Gainsight Inc.

Catch-up on Timeline Enhancements

May 2019: 6.3 Release

N/A

April 2019: 6.2 Release

Timeline is the official record of your customers. It allows you to log information regarding customer interactions in a way that enables you to quickly gather insights and drive action. The Timeline View in the Customer or Relationship 360 allows you to log and view activities that help you track customer interactions over the course of a customer’s life-cycle. The Timeline View in the Customer or Relationship 360 allows you to log and view activities that help you track customer interactions over the course of a customer’s life-cycle. The Timeline tab in the CTA Detail View allows you to log activities for a specific CTA. These activities will also appear in the Timeline View in the Customer 360.

  1. Ability to Search Activity Types from C360 and Cockpit pages: With this release, you can now search for Activity types from C360/R360 and Cockpit pages while creating an Activity.

52. Timeline_2.gif

  1. UI Improvements to Save and Cancel Button in Timeline Configuration: With this enhancement you can now view the SAVE and CANCEL buttons without scrolling down to the bottom of the page. The SAVE and CANCEL buttons are activated only if you modify any configuration.

53. Timeline_save.gif

  1. community logo.png Ability to roll up Relationship Activities to C360 page: Previously, it was not possible for you to view or edit Relationship Activities from its corresponding C360 page. However, with this enhancement you can now view the activities of a Company’s Relationships on the C360 page. A toggle switch Show Relationship Activities in Customer Timeline is introduced on the GENERAL SETTINGS tab of the Timeline configuration page to accomplish this task.

54..png

By default, this switch is disabled. When Admins enable this toggle switch, end users can view Relationship Activities from C360 page. Apart from viewing and editing Activities, end users can also view drafts of Relationship Activities. When users apply filters or search for Activities, the results also include Activities created from Relationships.  

Business use case: Consider a Company which has ten Relationships. Each of the ten Relationships can have multiple activities logged. If you wished to view all of the Activities for a Company’s Relationships, you had to manually open ten R360 pages and then search look at the activities of each Relationship. However, with this enhancement you can view all the Activities of a Company's Relationships directly on the C360 page itself.

To use this enhancement:

  1. To view Relationship Activities in C360:

    1. Navigate to C360 page of the required company.

    2. Click the Timeline tab.

Note: Activities created from R360 page have an R symbol followed by the Relationship Name (the third Activity in the below image).

Activities created from Relationship CTAs are denoted with a CTA symbol, followed by Relationship name and CTA name (the second Activity in the below image).

55..png

  1. To edit Relationship Activities in C360:

    1. Click the edit icon for a Relationship Activity.

    2. Make the necessary modifications and click UPDATE.

56. Timeline_CR360.gif

  1. When you search or filter Activities from the C360 page, the Relationship Activities matching the filter criteria are also displayed.

Timeline_searchnfilter.gif

  1. Search for a particular activity draft in the Drafts section. The matching Activity drafts from Relationship are also displayed.

58. Timeline_drafts.gif

  1. community logo.pngRecord Delete Implementation in Timeline: Previously, when you deleted an entity (Company or Relationship), the various Timeline records created for that Company like Activities, drafts, attachments, were not deleted automatically.

With this release:

  • If you delete a Company record, all its corresponding Timeline records are deleted. If the Company has Relationships, the Timeline records for the relationships is also deleted.

  • If you delete a Relationship record, its associated Timeline records are automatically deleted. However, the Activities of the Account to which the Relationship belonged to, continue to exist.

To use this enhancement:

  1. Delete the Company or Relationship record.

  2. Verify from the global Timeline if the corresponding activities are deleted.In the below image, the Company Alseivier Ltd. has an Activity “Discussion with Alseivier”, a draft with the same name, and an attachment called “Alseivier Attachment”.

59..png

When you delete the Company record for Alseivier Ltd, all its activities are deleted automatically.

60. Time.gif

IMPORTANT: The Gainsight Connect’s sync jobs must be completed for the required changes to be visible.

 

  • Was this article helpful?